delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Security and survival

with 4 comments

I let go my desire for security and survival.

I let go my desire for esteem and affection.

I let go my desire for power and control.

I let go my desire to change the situation.

~ Mary Mrozowski

My house was broken into this week. Fortunately…I had installed a security system recently…and received an alert when the front door was kicked in, setting off the alarm. It probably scared off the intruders…but not before they grabbed what they could…a laptop and two Kindle reading devices that I had in plain sight in the living room. It made me realize what an iffy and fragile thing security is. It brought to mind Mary Mrozowski’s litany, which I’ve been repeating to myself lately. I thought I understood the esteem and affection part…and the power and control part. I had been wondering about the security and survival part. It also brought to mind something that Pema Chodron said…”This very moment is the perfect teacher.” I think I was being set up. I hope whoever intruded upon my space, at least, finds some edifying reading material on those Kindles now in their possession. I think that I…get the security and survival part now.

Written by Jim

October 19, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Posted in Musings

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How awful, Jim. So sad to hear this – just so maddening that people do these things. Such a violation. I know they’re just things, but still. Smart to have the security system BEFORE….usually gets installed after…but yes, it’s all fragile. sigh

    Patti Grace

    October 20, 2014 at 2:07 am

    • Yes Patti…a sigh says it all. Hope you’re well. Give Scout a scratch behind the ears for me…

      Jim

      October 20, 2014 at 6:26 pm

  2. If they’d only known what a good, wonderful and awesome guy you are they wouldn’t have broken in and taken your things. They’d have knocked and handed you home baked cookies. It’s hard not to insert some expletives right about …here… but this would be your domain, not mine. Besides, it wouldn’t be in keeping with the Jim I know.

    (Can I say just one?)

    Happy 2015!

    Amy

    doggoddess

    January 14, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    • Cookies would have been nice :)
      (Expletive deleted)
      Thanks Amy…Hope you have a great New Year too!

      Jim

      January 15, 2015 at 9:18 am


Leave a Reply

