delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Beyond the pale

leave a comment »

sign

Recently, a rather ominous-looking sign appeared at the end of my road…where pavement gives way to dirt and gravel. I had just checked my mailbox, when it immediately caught my attention. I had the sinking feeling that we had been abandoned. Does this mean that we’re on our own now? Evidently, the state authorities can go up to this point…and no further. Should I be thinking about getting a four-wheel drive vehicle?

Musing about this on my way home made me feel like I was being assigned the status of  outlander …as if I was moving further beyond  the grasp of authority and the conventions of society…beyond the pale. And…I was beginning to relish the thought.

Written by Jim

January 26, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Leave a Reply

