delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Egg morning

leave a comment »

During the week, I invariably have a bipolar breakfast menu. One day, a bowl of oatmeal…the next day, a fried egg with a slice of cheese (can be cheddar…can be Swiss) on a flat round of whole wheat bread. The oatmeal is a concession to keeping my cholesterol level down…an expression of my left brain, carefully weighing practical matters. Conversely, I’m sure the urge for an egg emanates from my right brain…with a desire to walk on the wild side…to throw caution to the wind. If I ever get to the point where I can’t recall what I’ve had for breakfast the previous morning…I think I’ll go for the egg every day.

This morning, breakfast was transcendent. It was Saturday…Bela Fleck and company were filling the house with music…there was a mockingbird raiding the wild blackberry bushes outside the kitchen window…and, best of all…it was an egg morning.

Written by Jim

June 29, 2013 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

