delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Deep magic

with 2 comments

“Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.”

~ Arthur C. Clarke, Law #3 from Clarke’s Three Laws

There’s no doubt in my mind that we’ve reached this point…although sadly, we tend to take it for granted these days. A little over one mile down the road on which I live stands a rather smallish black box, perched atop a wooden post…now engulfed in wild Japanese and Trumpet Honeysuckle. I visit this box once or twice a week…open the door…and peer inside.

magic box

A short time ago, I was visiting a classroom in a local middle school, and during a break in the action of our geomentoring activity, I spotted an interesting-looking book on a nearby shelf…Earth: An Intimate History
 by Richard Fortey. I pulled out my iPhone…searched on Amazon…found the book…and purchased it…all within the span of a few minutes. And then, just as quickly…I forgot about my little spontaneous transaction.

A couple of days later I paid a visit to my mailbox. Upon opening the door, I was pleasantly surprised that the book had magically materialized within this little portal to another dimension…the inner workings of which were not readily discernible to the naked eye. Magic? Or the endpoint of a sufficiently advanced technology?

EarthIf one didn’t have any idea of what was going on behind the scenes…and what sort of technological wizardry was involved…it would be difficult to be sure.

Written by Jim

June 9, 2013 at 8:27 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yea, these modern high priests have concocted an alchemy that the rest of us can barely understand. I’ve switched mostly to reading with my Kindle. It took awhile to get used to it, but now I can lug around 175 books with me at once.

    sticktalking

    June 9, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    • Yes Tom…Kindles are great. I’ve got two. But I still love the smell of ink on paper!

      Jim

      June 9, 2013 at 3:54 pm


Leave a Reply

