delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

You say tomato

with 3 comments

mater

Passing by the kennel this morning, I noticed that ‘Mater’ is pet of the week. It got me wondering. Drawing upon the two years of Latin that I took while going to a Catholic high school many moons ago…I knew it meant Mother. But now that I consider myself a Southerner, I also know that it could possibly refer to a tomato…as in, ‘Mater sandwich…a staple of Southern cuisine. The third possibility is a character from the animated movie Cars named…Mater…who happens to be a He…that is…a male International Harvester tow-truck…

I just don’t know. I’ll have to ask next time I drop Belle off for a stay. I’ll also have to ask something I’ve been wondering a long time. Who the heck is Taylor?

Written by Jim

February 24, 2013 at 1:47 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s amazing language works at all. I it took more literally as a dog that was big on mating.

    Raud

    February 24, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    • I didn’t think of that one at all! You’re so right…it’s a wonder that we can communicate.

      Jim

      February 24, 2013 at 3:12 pm

  2. Only Taylor knows…

    Amy

    March 10, 2013 at 1:42 am


Leave a Reply

