delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Dancing in the rain

with one comment

When I took Belle out in the evening twilight yesterday, she started pulling me…trying to make a beeline towards the woods. I wondered what she saw…or smelled…or sensed. Then I heard the sharp snap of a dry twig. We both kept our distance, but stood silently, and peered into the darkening woods. I then saw a distinctive silhouette moving slowly among the trees…a white-tailed deer. Belle started barking…and our visitor darted off deeper into the woods. I’ve occasionally seen deer before in the area…usually leaping across the road in front of my car. This is the first that I’ve seen so close to the house…but I’m sure they must come near during the night. I immediately thought of getting a bag of ‘deer corn’ to attract them…then thought better of that idea after doing some research. Feeding deer is not a good idea…they get accustomed to, and may get dependent upon the handouts…and it’s really not good for them anyway. They’re also carriers of ticks that can harbor some pretty unpleasant diseases, such as Lyme disease. So…I think we’ll just admire these beautiful animals from a distance when we get the chance.

Last night I awoke to the sound of thunder…and pouring rain. One of those non-lethal…slow moving thunderstorms that I love to listen to in the darkness. We needed a good watering. Summer has indeed arrived this past week with its accompanying sultry heat. This morning, everything outside was wet and green…and I could almost hear a collective sigh of relief…even the air was filled with a cool and refreshing vapor.

I stopped in at Lowe’s early this morning to return something, and happened upon these words of wisdom staring up at me from a bin of wall art. They seemed very appropriate…

Life

Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass…

It’s about learning to dance in the rain.

~Vivian Greene

Written by Jim

June 24, 2012 at 11:35 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How true that is.

    Patti Grace

    June 25, 2012 at 4:00 pm


Leave a Reply

