delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Left behind

leave a comment »

It’s been a little over a month since Tinker left us. Not that I’m counting days, or anything like that. This evening I opened the drawer in the coffee table, looking for something, and instead found a dog comb…complete with a large tuft of Tink’s cream-colored fur in it. I was somewhat taken aback…but managed to carefully separate the fur from the comb…and put the clump of fur back in the drawer.

Belle hasn’t been herself since she lost her constant companion for the past eleven years. When I take her outside, she just stands and stares at me with a distant look in her eyes. This past week I’ve been nursing her while she’s been having a sore hip…having to carry her out and back. She seems better the last few days though…making it down the steps without a problem. But I still carry her up so she doesn’t aggravate her little hip joint.

I’ve been giving some thought to getting some company for her…but then again, I’m not sure how she would adapt to a strange dog in the house.  It might lead her to withdraw a little more. So…right now, I just try to give her a little more attention when I’m home.

It’s been about a year and a half since Sharon left me behind…and at times I feel like a rock that’s been buffeted about in a turbulent, fast-moving stream.  The painful, hard edges are slowing wearing away…but the essence of the rock still remains. Even though the rock is getting smoother…it’s still a rock…and will be for a very long time.

Written by Jim

June 13, 2012 at 9:29 pm

Posted in Dogs, Grieving, Musings

Leave a Reply

