delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

All things pass away

with 4 comments

Let nothing disturb you,
Let nothing frighten you,
All things pass away:
God never changes.
~ Teresa of Avila


It’s gotten a lot quieter around here the last few days. After an unexpected…and extremely short illness…Tinker (one of my two Pomeranians) died Tuesday night after having surgery. It’s left me quite flummoxed…and has…again…renewed my intense awareness of how transitory and ephemeral life really is. Last week at this time…she was spinning…whirling around, anticipating a little treat…with eyes open wide in simple pleasure. Now…there’s just…silence. I’ve even noticed Belle looking around…staring at nothing in particular…as if trying to recall something…or someone… that might be missing. Something not quite right with her surroundings.

There is a veil before our eyes…seemingly impenetrable at the moment. All thing pass away…bad things that we have to endure for a while…as well as good things that we hope will never end. Only God…the very ground of our being…endures…and only in Him, do we have hope.

Written by Jim

May 10, 2012 at 8:58 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jim, I’m terribly saddened by your loss. It must be very painful. The pictures you’ve provided of your two companions never failed to bring a smile to our faces. There’s a place in the next life known as the Rainbow Bridge, a place where our beloved companions go after they pass on. I’ve come to believe we’ll see them all again…when it’s our turn to cross over the Bridge.

    Joe

    May 10, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    • Thanks so much Joe. I think you’re right. There are things in this universe that we can’t even begin to comprehend. The day after Tinker died, I had this ‘sense’…not a vision, or voice, or anything like that…of a little girl (not a little dog) saying to me…”Thanks Dad…for taking care of me…I’m OK.” I can’t even imagine where that came from…but it brought tears of wonder to my eyes…and a strange measure of comfort to my heart.

      Jim

      May 11, 2012 at 6:34 pm

  2. SO sorry to read this, Jim. I have a big lump in my throat. You must be in shock – it happened so fast. What a sweetheart she was – I just hope she didn’t suffer. My first thought was – Sharon was lonely and needed Tinker with her. I hope it brings you a little comfort to think of them together. Ah-h-h life….all those beautiful things you said. I looked at my little Scout earlier tonight and thought of her growing old and leaving me. I stopped myself and thought, “one of us will leave the other – no one lives forever, but we have this time now and that is at least something.” I hope that you and Belle will comfort each other through this sad time. I’ll squeeze Scout extra tight tonight. sigh…

    Patti Grace

    May 11, 2012 at 12:55 am

    • Thank you Patti…I know you understand. Yes,,,I think shock is a good word for it. And…I thought the same thing that you thought…and that’s what I tell Belle…that her little sister is keeping Mom company. It’s funny…that Sharon would often say that Belle could see angels…the way she would stare…wide-eyed…as if watching something or someone with rapt attention. I think I see her doing the same thing now…and it brings a smile to my face. Maybe these little beings know…and are aware of…more than we give them credit for…

      Enjoy your gift that is named Scout…

      Jim

      May 11, 2012 at 6:48 pm


Leave a Reply

