delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

A new thing

leave a comment »

Very early this morning, I awoke from a dream in which I thought I heard the strange calls of Sandhill Cranes outside. Still in the dream, I looked out the window and saw a flock of cranes grazing on the grass out front in the darkness. Later, after awakening…in the early light, when I took the dogs out…passing overhead was a ‘vee’ of Canada geese, heading North. Perhaps…I thought…I did hear some Sandhill Cranes during the night? They have been known to migrate at night. It is Spring, after all..migration season.

This morning, I was sitting out on the porch with Belle…listening to the sound of ‘continuous creation’ going on all around us…and reading Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker CreekI came across a few lines…“I wake expectant, hoping to see a new thing. If I’m lucky I might be jogged awake by a strange bird call. I dress in a hurry, imagining the yard flapping with auks, or flamingos.” 

I may have heard…in my sleep…the peculiar and primitive rattlings of cranes as they swept across the dark, still, early morning sky. But this morning…no auks or flamingos…but I’ll surely settle for the beautiful sight of geese making their journey to the Northland, buoyed by a gentle wind from the South.

Written by Jim

April 15, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

