delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

When the whip-poor-will calls

with 2 comments

Dropped the girls off at the kennel this morning, so I’m spending this Saturday alone…doing the laundry and cleaning the house…in preparation for my trip tomorrow…want it to be clean when I get back. Opened all the windows this fine Spring day. This morning, I drove ‘up the hill’ to visit my neighbors. Randy said that the ‘old folks’ used to say that when you hear the whip-poor-will call, that means Spring is here. I heard the whip-poor-will early this morning. I’m sure we will still get some cold snaps…but a change of  season is definitely in the air. It’s been in the eighties most of the week.

It’s funny how I expect the dogs to react to everything that I do around the house. And it’s strange to look around for them out of habit, expecting that they’ll investigate every little thing that I do…especially in the kitchen, where there’s food….or when I open the front door.  But today, I’m missing their presence. All I’m hearing are the birds outside…through the open windows…letting me know that Spring is here.

Just a reminder…there’s a celestial two-step going on lately. Look to the west after sunset…you’ll see Venus and Jupiter doing a do-si-do  through the heavens. And there’s a beautiful crescent moon thrown in for the asking. Tomorrow night…I’ll be checking it out from the West coast.

Tinker & friend

Written by Jim

March 17, 2012 at 2:58 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Jim,

    Always enjoy your missives. Hope you have a safe trip to Califonria. After months of dry weather, Fresno finally got hit with a big rainstorm overnight. I think I saw the “ark” off in the distance!

    Joe

    Joe

    March 17, 2012 at 6:34 pm


Leave a Reply

