delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

I sing the book electric

with one comment

Yes… eBooks are wonderful. On my Kindle I can store a whole library. And most any book is accessible in a matter of moments via wi-fi…an ability that has become quite addictive. But…real books…paper and ink…are treasures. Objects of art…each with its own persona.

This past Sunday morning, shortly after sunrise…the early morning light was streaming in through the windows…and illuminating a shelf of books. They seemed to be in repose…patiently waiting to be opened and explored…their authors, many of whom have long since departed this world, willing to once again converse…over the ages…with their faithful readers…with me!

Yes…I sing the book electric. But I still love the smell of ink on paper…and the sheer physicality of a book…and all that it contains. Today is World Book Day. Read something good…

Written by Jim

March 1, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Posted in Books, Musings

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I’ll always love the smell, look and feel of my books, but have found the variety of options for reading very appealing – each in their own way. I’m currently reading: “Left to Tell: Discovering God Amidst the Rwandan Holocaust” by Immaculee Ilibagiza on my Kindle.

    PK

    March 2, 2012 at 2:22 am


Leave a Reply

