delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Just another day

leave a comment »

Another year has gone by…in chronological time anyway. I took the day off. Went to get a haircut. Stopped at the library on the way home and checked out Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything. I’m currently reading The Cloister Walk by Kathleen Norris…and I needed something else to help tether me to physical reality. It was a cool and overcast day, with a fine mist in the air. When I returned home…I put a small cherry-berry pie into the oven to celebrate.

I awoke this morning from another strange dream. I was visiting a very old apartment. Sharon was there…and another woman who appeared to be a friend. I noticed two dinner plates on a wooden table by the window…the remnants of large leaves of lettuce on each that had served as a bed for a salad. The other woman poured me a cup of something that looked like a purplish hot chocolaty kind of drink, and excitedly said, “You’ve got to try this.” Later, we were walking out in a courtyard…in the gloaming…trees towering overhead…an ornate, brown brick, official-looking building in the near distance. Suddenly, a call to prayer. It all had a middle-eastern atmosphere to it. A very strange language that I couldn’t understand…Arabic perhaps…or Hebrew? I had a feeling that I didn’t really belong there…that my presence was temporary…only a visitor. I seemed to be more concerned about certain things than was everyone else.

Some dreams amaze me in their degree of detail and realism…I can’t imagine them being solely of my own contrivance. When I awoke…a very peaceful feeling pervaded the bedroom…and it took a few moments to reorient myself to the present reality. Maybe…I later thought…it was a birthday gift of some kind…

Pie is done…

Written by Jim

February 27, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Posted in Books, Dreams, Musings

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

