delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Sparks

with 2 comments

“All living creatures are sparks from the radiation of God’s brilliance, and these sparks emerge from God like the rays of the sun.”   – Hildegard of Bingen

I’ve stopped counting the weeks and months…at least consciously. That empty feeling of loss seems to have settled down somewhere in my heart, where I feel it will remain for the rest of my days. Sometimes it’s momentarily masked by the sight of pure white clouds silently drifting across a porcelain blue sky…or the unexpected cry of a hawk, as it soars high above, hidden in the sun. Little, everyday things…that somehow have taken on a new fragile, ephemeral nature. Things that simply need to be witnessed…those sparks in a world of comings and goings. Below the surface, there’s now that everpresent sense of contingency that colors everything. That too…I’m thinking…must be a gift.

Written by Jim

February 18, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Posted in Grieving, Musings, Nature

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good, Jim. It sounds healthy and a bit inspiring for me. I’ve had a set back of sorts and i’m not exactly sure why unless its just this herky-jerky dance we do of three steps forward, two back. I do like how you check in with just a paragraph or two. I’ve had difficulty writing lately…I’m just so tired. Maybe its winter (I always feel like hibernating just a bit, especially around Feb) or maybe just the weight of life. I don’t know, but I think keeping at my blog with a line or two would help me….not like I have so much to say anyway….sigh. Thanks for the lift.pg

    Patti Grace

    February 19, 2012 at 8:01 pm

  2. It’s always good to hear from you Patti. I know…it hits you when you’re least expecting it…and it feels like you’re back to square one. And sometimes…it’s a real struggle to write anything. Then I start feeling like the Cheshire cat…doing a disappearing act (without the grin)…and have to write something…just to prove that I’m still here.
    Be good to yourself. A big Hug…

    Jim

    February 19, 2012 at 8:50 pm


Leave a Reply

