delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Here on earth

with 4 comments

The girls and I were sitting out on the porch tonight. The sky…a peach color in the west…fading into dark blue…the sun already set.  Dark silhouettes of  leafless trees…and pines.  The air pleasantly chilly on this mid-winter evening in the Carolinas. I’m hearing frog songs coming from down in the ravine where the sentinel rock stands. One night…when I work up the courage…I’ll take a walk down there. I now know there’s a little stream where the frogs must congregate…even on these long dark winter nights.

It’s very quiet. Occasionally, some airplanes will  pass by…high enough that their subdued whispers trail behind them…on their way into the Queen City thirty miles or so to the north. I imagine these travelers longingly looking down into the darkness beneath them…as I’ve done so many times…at the safe, earthbound folk beneath them…while they make their descent back to terra firma.

Last night, shortly after I went to bed, I heard some crunching in the brush outside. The bedroom window was open. I quietly got out of bed and crouched by the window and looked out. I thought I saw something emerge from the woods…something fairly large. I’m not sure what it was. Most likely, it was a deer. I shut and locked the windows. Sometimes…the night out here…alone…here on earth…can be a little unnerving.

Written by Jim

February 2, 2012 at 7:18 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thanks for the lovely post :-)

    NuttyNeuron

    February 2, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    • Bigfoot? You never know.

      Joe

      February 2, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      • Hmmm…Sunday morning I heard a blood-curdling scream. After doing some research…I had it narrowed down to either a cougar…or a red fox. While there have been anecdotal reports of big cats (and Bigfoot) in South Carolina, I’m leaning towards the fox. I hope…

        Jim

        February 6, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by Nutty :)

      Jim

      February 6, 2012 at 6:32 pm


Leave a Reply

