delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

My Christmas gift

leave a comment »

I awoke from a very strange dream this Christmas morning in St. Augustine (worth noting…I think). In the dream…a figure of a man…as if suddenly finding himself suspended in mid-air…floating among the clouds…a look of sheer terror on his face. Just as suddenly…he began shyly smiling as he stretched out his arms…slowly realizing that he could fly. Finally…he turned towards me and waved goodbye…a bemused grin on his face…raised his arms over his head…and dove downward into the clouds…into the unexpected darkness of the unknown that was far below.

Sharon was my dream interpreter…but I think I got this one.

Later…driving alone (no other sane people driving in the middle of nowhere on this Christmas morning) through Ocala National Forest as the sun was rising through the primeval mist that floated among the tall, spindly pines…in a dreamlike reverie. A day filled with difficult thoughts…in familiar territory…but now feeling so empty. I’m hoping that one of these days I can work up the courage to again dive for dreams, as e.e. cummings wrote in his poem of the same name. I’m probably lingering much too long on the last lines of his poem…

-before leaving my room

i turn, and (stooping

through the morning) kiss

this pillow, dear

where our heads lived and were.

Written by Jim

December 25, 2011 at 6:58 pm

Leave a Reply

