delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Beginner’s mind

with 2 comments

Not feeling very festive this year. At least, not in the worldly way. No tree…no lights…no ornaments. I did put up the holly wreath on the front door though…just to mark the season. I couldn’t…just yet…bring myself to sort through all the containers in the shed that hold all of our Christmas decorations. I opened one to get the wreath out, but that’s all I could manage before making a quick exit and locking the door. Maybe next year…when hopefully, I’ll be in a better, and more lucid,  frame of mind.

This year, I’m concentrating on the very first Christmas…starting at the beginning…trying to reorient myself into looking at things from the proper perspective. I’m starting by carefully rereading The Gospel of Luke, followed by the Acts of the Apostles, both having been written by Luke the physician, friend and traveling companion of Paul. My hope is to get a clear idea of what the church was actually like during that first century, when everything was still fresh in people’s minds…and try to determine just how far we might have strayed from those simple beginnings.

There’s a term in zen called beginner’s mind…trying to approach something without any preconceived notions on how we think something should be done. I think it might be the same thing that Jesus spoke of when He said that we must become like little children to enter the kingdom of heaven. We pick up so much baggage during the course of our lives…things…stuff…that I’m finding now is just meaningless in the long term.

So…this Christmas season…I’m not concentrating on stuff. Just trying to get back to simple beginnings…and hopefully find myself again along the way.

Written by Jim

December 10, 2011 at 6:11 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I LIKE it! Think it will catch on?

    PK

    December 12, 2011 at 2:12 am


Leave a Reply

