delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Sitting

leave a comment »

According to the veterinarian that I take Tinker and Belle (my pomeranians) to, ‘my world’ would have changed considerably…if not for a freshwater mussel called the Carolina Heelsplitter. The area where I live was under consideration for a very large housing development. The discovery that the heelsplitter, a critically endangered species, lived in a local branch of Cane Creek, about one-half mile down the road from where I live, took 400 acres out of the proposed development. So ‘my world’ got a reprieve for the foreseeable future.

I am so thankful…that somehow…we found this place. I like to think of it as my little world. Thoreau spoke of his beloved Walden as a place set apart…where he had his own personal moon and stars that belonged just to him. Today…I felt the same. This morning started out cold…28 degrees…with a white frost covering everything. This afternoon was a good time for sitting on the porch. The temperature in the sixties…feeling the warmth of the sun on my face. Tinker…lying at my feet…her eyes squinting in the sun…her nose wriggling in every direction, catching who knows what scents on the gentle, cool breeze that was blowing. Belle lying in the sun…a tiny lizard creeping up behind her, taking advantage of this wonderful sun to bask in…

I took Belle to the vet this morning to check on some blood work that was done two weeks ago. He off-handedly mentioned that she’ll probably make it to sixteen (she just turned eleven a few weeks ago). Hmm…five more years. I can remember the night Sharon and I bought her at a puppy shop down in Venice, Florida…and driving her back home to Sarasota…with Belle in a little cardboard box in the back seat of the car.

Now…we’re just sitting in the sun…our own sun…enjoying the breeze on an Autumn day that started out so cold…so dark.

Written by Jim

November 12, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

