delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

A good little adventure

with 2 comments

BelleTinker

It’s funny how very accustomed one gets to the presence of animals in the house. They’re always alert to what I’m up to. The slightest crinkle of a bag of chips in the kitchen is sure to draw Tinker out from under the bed where she’s been snoozing. And any time I start lacing up my sneakers, Belle starts stretching in anticipation of a walk outside.

This morning I packed up their bowls…their food…their assortment of treats (Dentastix, Jumbones, Marrobones, GoodBites)…and their little bed…and drove them over to the kennel where Miss Amy and Miss Linda whisked them off to their ‘room’. They both share the same enclosure that includes a little door that goes outside to their very own private dog run. I’m sure they enjoy that feature! I’m hoping it’s a good little adventure for them this week…they need a change of pace too.

The morning started off very foggy, but shortly after I dropped the girls off, the sky burst with a torrential rainstorm, along with bolts of lightning. Autumn wasn’t coming in ‘on little cat feet’, as Carl Sandburg beautifully described the fog…but with a resounding roar.

So this evening…the house is very quiet…and feels very empty. The girls are probably already wondering when I’m going to show up to take them home…and I already miss them. Tomorrow…I’ll be on the west coast…a continent away.

Written by Jim

September 24, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Posted in Musings

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How funny….I was on the east coast. We just sorta swapped coasts. Mine was a very short whirlwind kind of trip. My head is still spinning.

    PK

    October 2, 2011 at 12:04 am

    • Good to hear from you Patti. Hope your trip went well!

      Jim

      October 2, 2011 at 1:35 pm


Leave a Reply

