delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Long distance visitor

with 2 comments

I was sitting out on the porch this morning with Belle (Tinker prefers the cooler air inside), doing some reading, and just enjoying the beautiful day. We had an unexpected visitor who darted in and started hovering about three feet in front of me…and then cautiously proceeded up to the feeder hanging on the porch. The first time I ever encountered one of these mighty mites, it was the sound that got my attention. There was a loud buzzing above me, and I thought to myself, “that’s got to be a very LARGE bee.”  But seeing one of these birds, in this case a Ruby-throated hummingbird, especially up close, is really a sight to behold. Their aerobatics are nothing short of astounding. They spend the summer here…but somehow have the strength to migrate to Central and South America during the winter months. If you listen closely, you can hear the mouse-like squeaks the bird makes. Just wanted to share this…

Sharon loved hummingbirds. When I was inside the house later this afternoon, one of these hummers came right up to the window in the living room…hovered as if peering inside…and then just as quickly sped off again. I think someone might be checking on me…

Written by Jim

August 28, 2011 at 6:19 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loved to see and hear the hummingbirds. Wish I could see them here. Never have.

    hollysgifts1234hd

    August 30, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    • They’re beautiful little birds. I miss the red-wing blackbirds, and all the marshes with cattails.What was it? Wet meadow, shallow marsh, deep marsh? Good old days at DU :)

      Jim

      August 30, 2011 at 8:10 pm


Leave a Reply

