delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Pavement ends

with 2 comments

It’s been an eventful week. For the past two and a half years I’ve been struggling somewhat with a physical problem, the cause of which couldn’t be identified. Rapid and irregular heartbeats after eating any kind of meal…shortness of breath, esophageal spasms…and an inability to physically exert myself much at all. I was even finding it difficult to walk up the stairs at work, instead taking the elevator to the third floor. Last year, I started seeing a cardiologist, who put me though a nuclear stress test and did some digital imaging of my heart under stress…finding nothing at all wrong. I had kind of resigned myself to the possibility of this never going away.

Well…last week, I went to see my new doctor here in town for a checkup. The subject of medications came up, and I asked him if I really needed to be on my current medication for lowering my cholesterol,  for ‘the rest of my life’, since the last blood workup that I had done indicated that my cholesterol levels were well within the acceptable range. Also…my blood pressure that day was 108 over 58. He agreed to cut my hypertension med in half, and said that I could take a three month holiday from the cholesterol medication, which I’ve been taking for about 5 years. He also suggested taking omega 3 fish oil as an alternative. So…I decided to give it a try.

About five days later, I noticed that the usual symptoms that I’ve had for two and a half years mysteriously…and unexpectedly… started to disappear. By Monday of the following week…they were completely gone.  I was beside myself…this had all been a side effect of a little pill that I faithfully took once every evening. Needless to say, I was ecstatic. It was like waking up from a bad dream.

I’m celebrating tomorrow by driving up to Mt. Mitchell in the mountains of North Carolina, and climbing up to the summit (which I hear is a pretty easy hike). It’s the highest peak east of the Mississippi…closest thing to heaven in these parts. A new beginning of sorts…

On a sadder note, the extreme heat we’ve been having recently in the Carolinas took it’s toll…Hector died this week, most likely from heat exhaustion…and old age. I’m going to miss his early morning cock-a-doodle-doos.

These last two years have been an adventure…with some highs…and some extreme lows. But I think I’m finally home…

...and my world begins

The road home…

The road home

And finally…first figs of the year. Now I’ve got to figure out what to do with them…

figs

Written by Jim

July 30, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Posted in Country Living, Musings

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jim – So happy you are keeping a close eye on those physical symptoms. I think Sharon is sending you messages. …and thanks, that clinches it – I’m going on Omega 3 today! I’ve been thinking about it for awhile and have had a few of those symptoms you discribe (esp. the heartburn kind of thing in the esophagus).
    So sad to hear about Hector, you’ve had enough loss lately. Maybe he’s keeping Sharon company now? I’m praying for a break in the heat for all you “down” south and in those parts. Glad you’ve found a few pavementless roads – keep safe. p

    kajlichtoo

    August 6, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    • Patti…I had the same thought. Sharon must still be looking after me…God knows I need it!
      Yes…after all of this heat, I’m looking forward to Autumn very much (another couple of months). I prefer the colder weather…and can’t wait to throw some logs in the fireplace…and break the sweaters out!

      Jim

      August 6, 2011 at 6:01 pm


Leave a Reply

