delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Angels unawares

with 2 comments

“Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” (Hebrews 13:2)

Sunday morning is usually my favorite time of the week. I get to sleep in relatively late…until about six this morning…when the sun was actually on the rise. After taking the dogs out for their morning constitutional, I made some coffee, and then settled in for some reading before I had to get ready for church. I’m currently reading a book by Carl McColman, The Big Book of Christian Mysticism. McColman is a lay associate at the Cistercian Monastery of the Holy Spirit in Conyers, Georgia. I was reading a chapter where he stressed the importance of being  part of a local faith community, and actually getting involved with other people who are followers of Jesus. I said a little prayer afterwards, that I might be put into the path of someone who needed help or assistance today…maybe someone in the little congregation where I go to church on Sundays.

Later in the early afternoon, home from church, I had some lunch, and decided to watch a movie named “The Adjustment Bureau”. It’s about a group of mysterious individuals (or adjusters) who fine tune the daily fates of ordinary mortals as they go about living their lives according to a master plan of sorts that has been written by an overseer, who is enigmatically referred to as The Chairman. The movie is ultimately about free will…a gift that most of us sadly take for granted, and choose not to exercise to the best of our abilities during the course of our everyday lives here on earth.

Towards the end of the movie, the protagonist (played by Matt Damon), asks one of the adjusters about the identity of The Chairman. Harry the adjuster, matter-of-factly, states that everyone has met The Chairman, in the guise of a man or a woman,  at some point in their lives. They just may not have been aware of who they were encountering.

When I watched this scene…my jaw dropped slightly as I remembered my little prayer this morning before church, and a brief encounter I had after church at the Murphy Express gas station in town, where I stopped to fill up for the week ahead. As I was waiting for the pump to shut off, a young woman in jeans and t-shirt peered at me from around the pump and said sheepishly, ” We’re trying to get back to Myrtle Beach…would you possibly have any change that you can spare?”

I rarely carry cash these days, usually relying on my debit card…but I remembered that I had some coins in the car ashtray. I dumped the pile of coins into my hand…an assortment of quarters, dimes, nickels, and many pennies. I placed them into her outstretched hands. Her eyes lit up and she thanked me profusely…as if I was handing over gifts of gold, frankincense, and possibly a little myrrh. As I left the station, and drove down the road, I realized what had just happened. My prayer had been answered…although, in retrospect, I should have bought her a full tank of gas. Be careful what you pray for…and then…as I learned today…be sure to act accordingly when it comes through.


Written by Jim

June 26, 2011 at 4:26 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice, Jim….very nice. :)

    PK

    July 6, 2011 at 1:39 am


Leave a Reply

