delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

In a land of make believe

with one comment

I take the dogs out about nine in the evening…last call, as Sharon would say. It’s warm and humid tonight. The calendar says it’s still Spring…but Summer is here. I usually mark the arrival of Summer by the first sighting of fireflies…and tonight was the night. What can be more ethereal and magical than tiny glow-in-the-dark beings that wink in and out of the darkness. Witnessing this quiet, spectral vision brings to mind that we are truly “living in a land of  make believe, and trying not to let it show.” Why do we take for granted the sheer wonder of this world? It brings to mind a poem by William Wordsworth (one of the few poems that I’ve committed to memory)…

There was a time when meadow, grove, and stream,
The earth, and every common sight to me did seem
Appareled in celestial light, 
The glory and the freshness of a dream. 
It is not now as it hath been of yore;
Turn wheresoe’er I may, By night or day, 
The things which I have seen I now can see no more.

Somewhere along the way, we lose the freshness of vision that we experienced as children.  Is this what Jesus meant when He said that we must be like little children to enter the Kingdom of Heaven? I’m thinking that the Kingdom is already present…in the here and now…if only we open our eyes to see again, as we once did as little children. And, in that place…maybe “heartaches can turn into joy”.

 

Written by Jim

June 1, 2011 at 10:19 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love those magical fireflies. I’ll never forget the first time I saw one back east st my cousin’s house – we don’t have them here in the Northwest, sadly. They are such hopeful little creatures carrying around their own little lamp to light the land of make believe. pg

    PK

    June 2, 2011 at 5:46 pm


Leave a Reply

