delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Ours, we…my, I

with 3 comments

Slept in late this Easter Sunday morning…6:30 AM. Relatively late. I usually get up about 4:30 AM during the week to make the trek into Charlotte. I awoke to the sound of a Mockingbird who was working through his repertoire in the cool, foggy morning. Then Hector joined in with his raspy cock-a-doodle doos. I can usually hear our neighbor’s rooster, about a quarter of a mile away answer back…dueling roosters. Our neighbors…I catch myself everytime I use those plural possessive pronouns these days. Our house…our dogs…our neighbors. The same thing with we. It’s hard breaking a familiar habit, and every time it happens it brings me back to reality. I liked ours and we…I and my seem so incomplete now.

Well…it was Easter Sunday, so had to get ready for church. I go to Open Door Fellowship church in town, a very small non-denominational congregation. I’m the only one who doesn’t have an accent…or maybe I AM the one who has the accent. All of the people there are very nice and very welcoming. I started attending a week after Sharon died. She had checked out this church once back in November, and had given her seal of approval. She was right again…as usual. I’ve always felt a bit odd going by myself though…especially since I’m still wearing my wedding ring (that’s a whole ‘nother topic). Anyway…it was a nice service. A visiting family group of musicians led Praise and Worship, and Pastor John showed a clip from the movie “The Passion of the Christ”. He spoke on Isaiah 53, and about claiming what is already ours (“By His stripes, we ARE healed”).  Sharon used to kid me about how a Chicago city boy who grew up as a Roman Catholic could ever wind up going to a Spirit-filled, speaking-in-tongues, shout Hallelujah church. I blame it all on Rodney Howard Browne…with a little help from the Holy Spirit.

Yes…I know we’re not supposed to work on the Sabbath…but after church, I really needed to get the old John Deere revved up (after recharging a dead battery and putting air in the tires…I had neglected my duties before winter had set in). I’ve decided to go for a more natural look this year by mowing less grass. I’ve already seen some daisy-like flowers popping up on their own.  I sent away for some prairie grass seeds to add a little exotic flair to the landscaping (yes…I’m doing my part to introduce invasive, non-indigenous species into the neighborhood). I’m probably only one of about three households within the surrounding square mile, so I don’t think the neighbors will mind. They don’t mind Hector.

I finally got the grass cut…not bad for the first pass of the season (I’m now thinking of letting a little more of the grass revert to its natural seed-bearing form). After a brief interlude of running out of gas (I was able to search out a few thimblefuls in an almost empty gas can in the shed, which helped me to avoid pushing the tractor back up the hill to its parking spot). Grass is now done…until next weekend if we get more rain during the week.

So goes my experiment in country living.

Tomorrow is Sharon’s birthday.

Written by Jim

April 25, 2011 at 1:02 am

Posted in Country Living, Music

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope you managed to get through Sharon’s birthday ok. It’s healthy to keep busy especially since you live in a fairly isolated environment now. As important as it is to have time to contemplate, it’s equally important to engage in the land of the living too.
    A couple of questions: 1) do you mind if I post your website or is this completely private? 2) How do Hector and your pooch get along? I am so grateful to have my animals. They are so loving.
    Hang in there Jim. pg

    PK

    April 26, 2011 at 10:59 pm

  2. Hi Patti. I think I made it through yesterday OK, with at least no more than the usual bouts of tears welling up when I think on certain things. The next ‘milestone’ is our wedding anniversary on May 17th. I had planned a little trip about then just to get away…and almost talked myself out it, feeling somewhat guilty. But I’ve decided it might be good to take a break for a few days.
    To answer your questions: 1) I don’t mind at all…please do post the website. 2) Belle and Tinker don’t like Hector at all…I have to keep them on their leashes when I take them out, otherwise there would be feathers flying for sure! The dogs are both about 10 years old and they’re a treasure.
    Thank you for caring…and please know that you are also lifted up in my prayers.

    Jim

    April 27, 2011 at 12:16 am

  3. I’ve been reading, rather savoring, your blog at leisure and not with any order in mind. Just glimpsing at friendships I allowed to dwindle in lieu of life’s lesser business. I’ve been quite enjoying the music you’ve posted and think you might enjoy grooveshark.com – tons of Nanci and Allison. This particular post, two years and more in the past, compels me to gently remind you that what was yours will be yours for always. No rules or laws that demand we relinquish those treasures which were for they’re always the seeds for tomorrow.

    Amy

    February 7, 2013 at 2:50 am


Leave a Reply

