delithopia

Notes from the Waxhaws

Everything can change…

with 2 comments

…in a New York Minute. On January 22nd of this year, Sharon Kay, the love of my life, died suddenly and unexpectedly of a heart attack right before my eyes. No goodbyes…no sad farewells…just one minute here, and the next…gone from my life. The only thing I could do for her was to kiss her goodbye, and then read Psalm 23 to her. I hope it was the last thing she heard. It’s been three months and one day, and I’m still trying to sort it out in my mind. I’m hoping that getting my thoughts down on the pages of this blog will help me wrap my head around this most significant change in my life.

Sharon’s Rose

In my heart there blooms a flower,

day by day, and hour by hour,

sweeter fragrance no one knows…Sharon’s rose.

Planted as a seed so small,

how it climbed o’er my heart’s wall,

constantly it blooms and grows…Sharon’s rose.

Even though this rose is wild,

with its thorns a love beguiled,

still the love that I chose…Sharon’s rose.

What can I say about Sharon? She was my wife…my best friend…my lover. She was a mother who raised two beautiful children…Beau and Amber. She was a loving daughter…a nurse, who helped countless number of people during her brief stay here on Earth. She held the children of Haiti and Mozambique in her heart by her generous support and prayer for their needs. She prayed for the peace of Jerusalem.

But most of all, she was a servant of the most High Lord Jesus.

She came into my life, and pulled me back onto the path of the straight and the narrow. In doing this, she was truly a gift from God, and I will be eternally grateful. In the book of Revelation, John the apostle spoke about the coming return of our King, something that Sharon looked forward to…

1 Then I saw “a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. 2 I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. 3 And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. 4 ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (Revelation 21:1-4)

Sharon has run the race…she has finished the good fight. She no longer has to wait. She is at last in the arms of her Lord and Savior. No more pain, no more tears, no more sorrow…
She’s home.

Written by Jim

April 23, 2011 at 10:15 am

Posted in Grieving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Jim! YaY for you and your new blog! I hope it does just that for you – help you to sort things out. I know mine helps me do that and I’ve met some lovely people along the way. I think it is a healthy way to grieve and you never know who it might reach. pg

    PK

    April 24, 2011 at 7:06 am

  2. Thank you Patti…and thanks for the inspiration. I wanted to do this as a birthday gift for Sharon. May you find encouragement and blessings on your daily walk.

    Jim

    April 24, 2011 at 5:06 pm


Leave a Reply

